Jon’s Race Report: Capital Cross Classic

If there is one thing I truly love about fall and winter, it is ‘cross season.  Cyclocross is one of those things that you instantly love, or you honestly just don’t get it.  I remember the single description of ‘cross racing that drew me to the sport 3 or 4 years ago was:

Cyclocross: If you do it wrong, will be the coldest, wettest, most miserable hour of your life.  And if you do it right, will be the coldest, wettest, most miserable hour of your life.

This description absolutely solidified the my desire to check ‘cross out.  Now, a few years removed from my first race, I’m not necessarily that much better, and it still feels like someone is ripping out your lungs, but man what a great time it is!

Anyway, this weekend was one of my favorite local races, the Capital Cross Classic, and with the amount of rain we had gotten the days leading up to the race, I wasn’t about to miss out on the fun.

I was racing the Men’s 4/5 and was able to catch a wheel and make my way to the front group before the first turn.  The mud on the course was incredible, but really made things difficult as parts of the course that I had ridden up fine in warmups were so torn up it was impossible.  Add to that the number of issues I had clipping into my pedals with all of the built up mud on my cleats, and I had a bit of a rough day.  But I was pedaling strong and was surprised at being able to hold on to a solid finish: 25th out of 94.

Here are the shots:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One comment on “Jon’s Race Report: Capital Cross Classic

Leave a Reply

