New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year! 2014 was an incredible year and we’re hoping that 2015 will be more of the same!

I usually makes some casual new year’s resolutions of things to try in the year to come. I can’t say that I did very well with those in 2014 – I did not do yoga once a week, nor did I attempt to make bread, meditate, take a weekly break from social media or participate in meatless Monday. I did, however, become an Ironman and that trumps making bread any day.

In 2015 I want to fill my life with even more joy and bravery than I did in 2015.

 

Be Joyful.

Limit expectations. // High expectations can lead to letdowns.

Admire nature and simplistic wonders. // Nature rocks.

Be mindful. // Yoga. Meditation. Slow eating.

More adventures! // Local, international, everywhere.

Be Brave.

Continue to do things that I’m afraid of. // Take risks. Be OK with failure.

Think about my career.  // Is being fulfilled outside of work enough?

Help people. // Coach, volunteer, smile.

 

Randomness:

Attempt to make bread and yogurt.

Use our juicer.

Plan a mini vacation with my Mom.

Give our dogs weekly walks.

Progress towards even less sugar and processed foods.

 

This article sums things up nicely. Last year may just have brought me to the brink and the reward was more than worth it.

I also loved the mentality and thoughts on endurance sports in this New Year’s post. “I’ve found that I’m never more alive than when I’m pushing and I’m in pain and I’m struggling for high achievement. In that struggle, I think there’s a magic.”

 

~ Jaime

Leave a Reply

